Asana

Asana is a popular project tracking application used by many agile development teams. Buddybuild offers a first-class integration with Asana, creating tasks for build status, feedback submissions, and crash reports directly to the Asana projects that you use.

There are a number of sub-sections on this page:

This section describes how to navigate to the Asana integration settings, and is referred to by several procedures described on this page.

  1. Log in to the buddybuild dashboard.

  2. The App Settings button Click App Settings button in the top toolbar. The Default build configuration screen is displayed:

    The Default build configuration screen

  3. The Integrations button In the left navigation bar, click the Integrations button. The first of the Integrations screens (Apple Dev Connection) is displayed:

    The Apple Dev Connection screen

  4. The Asana button In the left navigation, click the Asana button. The Asana screen is displayed:

    The Asana screen

    If you have previously configured Asana, you might instead see:

    The Asana screen with existing configuration

Connect your Asana project

These steps describe how to establish a connection between buddybuild and a specific Asana project.

  1. Navigate to the Asana integration settings

  2. Depending on whether you have an existing connection, or not, perform one of the following:

    1. The Connect with Asana button If you do not already have an Asana connection configured, click the Connect with Asana button, and proceed to the next numbered step.

    2. If you do have an Asana connection configured, see Edit feedback and crash report configuration.

  3. When you are not logged in to Asana, the Asana authentication screen is displayed:

    The Asana authentication screen

    The Asana Log In button Click the Use Google Account button to authenticate using your Google account, or enter your email address and password and click Log In to login to Asana.

  4. Once you are logged in to Asana, the Grant Permission screen is displayed:

    The Asana Grant Permission screen

  5. The Asana Allow button Here, you are giving permission to buddybuild to connect to Asana on your behalf, and to create tasks in your projects. Click the Allow button. The Configure Asana for Feedback screen is displayed:

    The Configure Asana for Feedback screen

  6. Configure automatic task creation for feedback, and select a workspace, project, and section where feedback should be reported:

    1. Check Automatically create tasks for Feedback if you wish to have new tasks created every time a user sends feedback via the buddybuild SDK in your app.

    2. Select an Asana workspace (contains multiple projects).

      • Select an Asana project (contains multiple tasks).

      • Select an Asana section (a section is a labeled state describing the disposition of a task).

  7. The Continue button Click the Continue button. The Configure Asana for Crash Reports screen is displayed:

    The Configure Asana for Crash Reports screen

  8. Configure automatic task creation for crash reports, and select a workspace, project, and section where crash reports should be reported.

  9. The Continue button Click the Continue button. The Connection confirmation screen is displayed:

    The Connection confirmation screen

    At this point, you can choose whether the configuration you just created should become the default for any new apps that you add to buddybuild:

    1. The Yes, save as a default integration button Click Yes, save as a default integration to make the Asana configuration the default for new apps.

    2. The No thanks! button Click No thanks! to defer configuring defaults until another time.

    After clicking either button, the Asana screen is displayed:

    The Asana screen

At this point, the initial connection process is complete! You can adjust the configuration any time you wish.

Edit feedback and crash report configuration

The feedback and crash report settings can be adjusted at any time. Adjustments take effect immediately for all future feedback or crash report events.

Check Automatically create tasks for Feedback if you wish to have new tasks created every time a user sends feedback via the buddybuild SDK in your app. Similarly, check Automatically create tasks for crash reports if you wish to have new tasks created every time your app (with the buddybuild SDK enabled) crashes.

Both Feedback and Crash Reports have their own instances of the following fields:

  • Select the Asana workspace where tasks should be created.

  • Select the Asana project where tasks should be created.

  • Optionally, select the Asana section to apply to tasks.

  • Optionally, select the default assignee for new tasks. Whenever new tasks are created, the selected user would see those tasks appear in Asana’s My Tasks screen.

Changes to any of the selections is automatically saved.

Delete Asana connection

The Trashcan icon When you need to delete the Asana connection settings, click the Trashcan icon to the right of Connected account panel.

The Connected account panel

The panel is replace by a confirmation panel:

The Connection delete confirmation panel

Click Delete to delete the connection to Asana, or Cancel to keep the configuration.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""